336 Alice Avenue, Oglesby, IL  61348
Phone:  815-883-8916 ♦ Fax:  815-883-8943

Welcome to 3rd Grade!

Teacher: Mrs. Beth Shaw


From Mrs. Shaw:

"Aside from being hired as a full time teacher, I chose HFS for the great environment; from the knowledgeable staff, to the sweet kids, to the great families, it is the best place for us. We started here late as a family, but it was the best decision we have ever made!"


Five words to describe Holy Family School:

  1. Loving
  2. Caring
  3. Academic
  4. Family
  5. Awesome


Some units of study in Third Grade:

  • Social Studies: Native Americans
  • Science: Space, Life Cycles, Leaves
  • Reading: Novel studies on the "Herdman" books (The Best School Year Ever, The Best Halloween Ever, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever)
  • Writing: Persuasive Paragraphs for Christmas presents
  • Math: Multiplication
  • Computers: Google Slides, Creating Graphs in Google Docs, and Coding




Upcoming Events

From the Office
Monday March 19, 2:30 PM - 3:00 PM
2nd Trimester Honors Assembly
From the Office
Tuesday March 20, 4:00 PM -
Scholastic Bowl @ Deer Park
From the Office
Thursday March 22, 4:00 PM -
Scholastic Bowl @ Princeton Christian
From the Office
Friday March 23, 1:30 PM -
Living Stations of the Cross
From the Office
Monday March 26, 4:30 PM -
Scholastic Bowl @ HFS Holy Family vs Mendota Northbrook
From the Office
Tuesday March 27, 3:00 PM -
Taco Night
From the Office
Wednesday March 28 - All Day
2:15 Dismissal/Wear Jeans Wednesday
From the Office
Thursday March 29 - All Day
No School-Teacher Workshop
From the Office
Friday March 30 - All Day
Good Friday-No School
From the Office
Monday April 2 - All Day
Easter Break